Posted by: Release time:2014-01-03
Former Residence of Feng Zicai, also known as mansion of Feng Gong Bao (Gong Bao means imperial tutor in charge of upbringing of the crown prince), was called mansion of Gong Bao by local people. Located in Baishuitang community, northern part of Qinzhou city, it is a residence of Feng Zicai after his retirement. Founded in 1875, the former residence faces south. Situated on three hills, it is surrounded by walls. In the courtyard there are forests of steles with beautiful, vigorous and forceful handwriting. The residence is characterized by antique and unique style. Feng Zicai (1818-1903), with a courtesy name of Nangan and a literary name of Cuiting, was born in Qinzhou. He was a general in the late Qing Dynasty, and successively held the posts of provincial commander-in-chief in Guangxi and Guizhou. He was almost at his 70 years old in the 1885 Sino-French war. However, he still wore sword and commanded his troops in Zhennan Pass (now Youyi Pass), wearing a coatee and straw sandals. Finally, he inflicted a crushing defeat on the French army after bloody battles, and continued his victorious pursuit to Van Yen (now Dong Dang) and Lang Son of Vietnam, wiping out more than 1000 enemies, which is known to history as The Great Victory at Zhennan Pass. Feng Zicai was buried in the east of Qinzhou, and his tomb was built in 1905. In front of the magnificent tomb there are stone tablets, stone carvings of human and horse, and memorial archways. Built in the first year of Emperor Guangxu (A.D. 1875), covering an area of 15,220 square meters, the former residence was the general headquarter for Feng Zicai reorganizing the Cui Army to march to the front. The residence has three rows; each row has three buildings, and each building has three rooms. It forms an architectural mode of Three Rows with Nine Buildings which features ancient customs. Its face width is 40.5 meters and depth is 45 meters. The building has four pillars in the front, and features a mixed structure of composite beam and column-and-tie construction, Chinese gabled roof, and lime-sand semicircle-shaped tile. Emphasis is laid upon solidity and practicality. Without luxurious decoration, it boasts high quality and exquisite workmanship. It also has auxiliary buildings, such as ancestral temple, tower, stable, fishpond, well, garden and orchard.
Opening hour: 9:00-17:00